WILD BURRO - HIKING, BIKING, LAKE Big Bear City


Bright! 4 STARS, 5 bed 4 ba private HOT TUB!

Pets Welcome

Bedrooms

5

Baths

4

Sleeps

14

***1 FREE Ski or Snowboard beginner 1 day RENTAL plus 15% off remaining rentals for others in your group with this cabin

20% OFF lift tickets when reserving 72 hours in advance at getboards. Details given with reservation confirmation.

FREE Birthday Ski or Snowboard beginner 1 day rental! Details given with reservation confirmation!***

"We watched the horses run and play from the living room and a herd of wild burrows stroll by in the distance. We really felt like we got away this weekend and yet, it was a quick trip into town and the lake. We will definitely be back!" Steven, November 2013

Get away from it all in this Newly Remodeled cabin with amazing VIEWS of the surrounding Big Bear Mountains, Ski Slopes and Valley. Watch horses run, wild donkeys roam in the distance and clouds soar through the sky. Step outside for beautiful hiking trails and only 5 minutes to the lake!

Step into the outdoors in this newer home with hints of the outdoors, within. Enjoy Pine Logs, Vaulted Ceilings, Bright Sunlight throughout, Natural Stonework throughout, Fireplaces, Skylights and plenty of windows with views in this BRIGHT, open and spacious floor plan in this 2 level house with 3 bedrooms upstairs and 2 bedrooms downstairs with a Game room on the lower level.

Just a quick drive to the lake, the slopes and to the BIG BEAR VILLAGE and yet located in a peaceful setting where wild donkeys might roam around somewhere off in the distance, if you are so lucky to see them. (Not to worry, they are more afraid of us than we are of them, so they won't even think about coming close to people.) Watch the clouds stroll by, feel the breeze, smell the fresh air, this Ranch is a definite getaway from it all yet just a few minutes to the SKI SLOPES and the VILLAGE.

KITCHEN / GREAT ROOM with newer appliances, Cook in a bright and spacious kitchen with beautiful Indian Granite counter tops and a sky light setting with windows throughout. Wonderfully social cooking area, meaning that you can face your friends while cooking (rather than a wall :) as they sit across from you. Spacious kitchen, because we know that everyone ends up in the kitchen at a gathering. AND this kitchen opens to a spacious dining room with seating for 3 at the BAR and additional seating for 6 at the table and a nook for 3.

SLEEPS 12 to 14- 5 Bedroom, 4 Bath
2 Kings, 3 Queens, 1 Full

Master Bedroom - KING Log Bed (nice!) with memory foam Mattress and a beautiful Jetted Hot Tub sitting within windows with incredible Mountain and Valley Views, Luxury Bath! Large Italian Travertine Tiled Shower w/ Steam Shower for 2 or 3 people with Rain Drop shower heads. Sleeps 2

Bedroom 2 - QUEEN Log Bunk Beds (upper level of house) Sleeps 4
Bedroom 3 - 1 TWIN Bed - elevated approx. 3 feet above ground (upper level) Sleeps 2
Bedroom 4 - KING Sleigh Bed with private Full Bathroom (lower level of house) Sleeps 2
Bedroom 5 - QUEEN Bed with Full Bathroom (lower level of house) Sleeps 2
+ downstairs living room Sleeper Sofa Sleeps 2

FREE WI-FI
FLAT SCREEN TV'S
GAME ROOM
POOL TABLE
HOT TUB
FENCED YARD
BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
2 FIREPLACES
JACUZZI BATH
Charcoal BBQ

LIVING ROOM / GREAT ROOM attaches to the Dining Room and Kitchen for that added open feel. Beautiful SKYLIGHTS are inset into a vaulted wooden ceiling with pine log beams. OPEN WINDOWS throughout the HOUSE make this place feel spacious & bright!

NO SMOKING

NO GARAGE ACCESS-Parking for 6 cars maximum

All basic kitchen items provided.

All linens provided
All homes come with fresh towels and fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has prepared this vacation home for your arrival and will clean upon your departure.

Dog Friendly ($25 per dog per night, 2 dog max)
Pet bed to keep dogs off furniture required.

Amenities

Amenity
  • Combination tub/shower
  • Double
  • Jetted tub
  • King
  • Queen
  • Shower
  • Sleep sofa /futon
  • Toilet
  • Twin/ single
Attractions
  • Churches
  • Cinemas
  • Coin laundry
  • Festivals
  • Forests
  • Marina
  • Museums
  • Playground
  • Restaurants
  • Zoo
Dining Checkbox
  • Dining
Entertainment
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
General
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Leisure Activities
  • Antiquing
  • Bird watching
  • Eco tourism
  • Horseback riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Outlet shopping
  • Paddle boating
  • Scenic drives
  • Sight seeing
  • Sledding
  • Walking
Local Services And Businesses
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • Fitness center
  • Groceries
  • Hospital
  • Laundromat
  • Massage therapist
  • Medical services
Location Type
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Outside
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Sports And Adventure Activities
  • Basketball court
  • Cycling
  • Equestrian events
  • Fishing
  • Freshwater fishing
  • Golf
  • Hiking
  • Ice skating
  • Jet skiing
  • Mountain biking
  • Mountain climbing
  • Mountaineering
  • Rafting
  • Roller blading
  • Sailing
  • Ski lift privileges
  • Ski privileges optional
  • Skiing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Water skiing
  • Water tubing
  • Wind-surfing
Suitability
  • Children welcome
  • Non smoking only
  • Pets considered
  • Wheelchair accessible
Suitability Chkbox
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Onsite Services
  • Private Chef
Theme
  • Family
Safety
  • Smoke detectors
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Fire extinguisher
Show All

Season Period Min.Stay Nightly Weekly Monthly
Fall 2019 12/1/2019 - 12/12/2019 2 $295 $2264
Winter I 2019 (All Units) 12/13/2019 - 12/19/2019 2 $445 $3314
* Christmas Dec 20 - 26 2019 12/20/2019 - 12/26/2019 2 $895 $6265
* Dec 27, 28, 29, 2019 12/27/2019 - 12/29/2019 3 $1800
* Jan 1 to 4th 2020 1/1/2020 - 1/4/2020 2 $695
Winter II 2020 (All BUT Araby) 1/5/2020 - 1/16/2020 2 $395 $3605
* MLK Weekend Jan 17-20, 2020 1/17/2020 - 1/19/2020 3 $895
Winter II 2020 (All BUT Araby) 1/20/2020 - 2/13/2020 2 $395 $3605
* Presidents Wknd Feb17 2020 2/14/2020 - 2/16/2020 3 $895
Winter II 2020 (All BUT Araby) 2/17/2020 - 3/12/2020 2 $395 $3605
Spring 2020 3/13/2020 - 5/21/2020 2 $350 $2749 $11700
* MEMORIAL WKND 2020 5/22/2020 - 5/24/2020 2 $495
Spring 2020 5/25/2020 - 6/11/2020 2 $350 $2749
Summer 2020 (All Units) 6/12/2020 - 7/2/2020 2 $350 $2539
Summer 2020 (All Units) 7/5/2020 - 9/3/2020 2 $350 $2539 $10860
* Labor Day 2019 3 night min 9/4/2020 - 9/6/2020 2 $315
Summer 2020 (All Units) 9/7/2020 - 9/13/2020 2 $350 $2539

Reviews

We had a great time
Everything was great. The house was amazing and perfect for our family. I think that the house needed something on the windows because we were waking up at dawn. Other than that we loved the house.
Maralyn S.
Jun 2019

Manager Response: So glad to hear that everything was GREAT, amazing and perfect for your family! This house is a bright and sunny house and it is beautiful to awaken early and watch the wild life begin their day (roaming donkeys, coyotes, bunnies and birds.)

Large house, in need of some updating
We came in late winter and found the house was only accessible via dirt roads. Both my husband and my in-laws had to call AAA to get towed out of the mud on the drive in. The house is large, and the master bedroom has a great bathroom. As previous reviewers mentioned, the windows do not have curtains, so it gets light in the house pretty early. Overall, the house is pretty dated, and the kitchen is not as well stocked as it could be. It was nice that the yard is fenced, and the view from the deck is very nice. Overall, 6 adults and two kids fit comfortably in the house, but I probably would not rent it again for our trip next year.
Carol S.
May 2019

Manager Response: We apprecaite your feedback of the Wild Burro Cabin. This is a very well loved cabin by many and we are pleased that you too loved the views, the size of the house that sleeps up to 15 ppl and the wonderful Master bedroom with the rock tub and more. It appears that your reservation was during some very challenging weather and we do suggest having an SUV during the Winter months to easily access the short gravel road that leads to this cabin. We have put curtains on many of the bedrooms since previous feedback has requested that and we will certainly identify which bedrooms are missing more curtains as we understand that sleeping in is a nice luxury on vacation. The entire top level of the cabin has been updated recently, in the past few years with a brand new upgraded kitchen, living room, dining room and bedrooms. We do have a variety of cabins for your next stay, if you desire something different. Thank you again for your feedback.

First trip with family!!
The best!!! Very very clean.. beautiful.. quiet..relaxing.. and the cabin it’s huge!! There’s no words to describe.. We loved it..! We’re definitely coming back!!!! Thank you so much!!
Paola M.
Mar 2019

Manager Response: Thank you Paola, for your 5 star review of the Wild Burro! So happy that you found this to be "the best!" and very clean, beautiful, quiet and relaxing. We look foward to your return!!

Great Place to spend time in mountains with friends and family!!
I've been renting this cabin every year for the last 5 years and it never disappoints! This is the place all my friends and i get together and just get away and hangout together away from work and enjoy the simple mountain life. Its great for groups, which is good because we have a rather large one at about 14 of us. Its so spacious that all of us had our own place to sleep. The Jacuzzi looks over a huge field and can see Bear mountain trails with people going down them. I can't wait to come up next year and keep the tradition with my friends of coming to this Awesome place!!
Dave M.
Feb 2019
Amazing!
The rental was amazing! Just didn’t know the road would be so bad!
Thank God we had trucks and big cars to go over such rocky areas. Would definitely keep all the pretty cars at home and bring out the bad ones who don’t mind getting hurt or dirty!
Overall, everything was beautiful!
Ani N.
Oct 2018
Great family time
We had a great time because it was very spacious and it had almost everything we need it. A few more beds would have been good because I had rented a different one. Our was switched at the end which had less beds. Other than that everything else in the cabin was good plus we had ac so that was extra because others don't have it. Also it would have been nice to know that it was very uphill because my grandma can't walk well and we had mini vans that wouldn't climb up there with people in it. That was the only problem. That's why I had rented the previous which was by the lake, easier access for everyone. Inside everything was beautiful and we were very comfortable.
Iris V.
Aug 2018
GREAT VACATION
WE HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME WE HAD EVERYTHING WE NEED AT RENTAL I WILL DEFINATELY RECOMMEND RENTAL SPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE A BIG GROUP WE CANT WAIT TO RETURN
Yecenia A.
Dec 2017
Wild Burro - Big Bear
Spacious, clean and welcoming-a great place for a family getaway in the mountains
Guest
Oct 2017
Great stay
We had a great time staying at the Wild Burro Lake Front Cabin. The cabin was confortable and very nice. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool table especially, and the scenery surrounding the cabin is beautiful. I would recommend it to everyone!
Gina H.
Sep 2017
Big Bear Fun
The rental was great. We loved how far off path this rental was. Good for large groups that tend to be a little noiser. No air conditioning in this rental so we were uncomfortable during the day. View was spectacular however the main deck needs serious repair very rikety. Nice inside and appliances worked appropriately.
Kristine H.
Jul 2017

Manager Response: Thank you for your feedback. We agree that this is a great spot for groups that like a little space and yes, it has amazing views. Air conditioning in Big Bear is a rare find, so I apologize that you were too hot during the day. We have had a few hot spells recently, but the majority of the year is pleasant. We will make sure to address the outside railing ASAP. Thank you!

loved location
Great stay and very nice home. Although if it is snowing make sure you have a all wheel drive. The home is situated on top of a hill which makes it amazing, but also very hard to get to. Had an amazing time with my family here and will book in the future ??
Carmen O.
Feb 2017

Manager Response: So glad that you had an amazing time with your family and that you look forward to returning! You visited the Wild Burro at the time of one of our biggest snow storms and I have to say, most every cabin was difficult to get to. This cabin does require a little more of a 4 wheel drive during heavy snow storms, but we do require that for all of our cabins during the winter months. Glad that you enjoyed the views!

Best Views!
We had a lovely family gathering at this beautiful home with incredible views! The home is bright, beautiful and spacious, perfect for our family to get together, cook together and enjoy each other. There was a second living room downstairs which was an added bonus for the kids!
judy s.
Jan 2017
Group Hiking Trip/Get Away
We had a blast! The property met all of our expectations and more. Plenty of everything you need. Love the pantry that was stocked with full of stuff but didn't get to use any item. Very spacious and clean. Would love to stay here again in the future. The place is hidden away and hard to find if the gate are closed asking you to go the back route. Pay every close to the instruction if you do.
Guest
Oct 2016
Perfect Location
A group of 12 friends was in search of a cabin big enough to house us, secluded enough to get that isolated feeling, and quiet enough to relax. This rental offers all of the above. The master suite is amazing. The view of horses running while drinking coffee was meditative. And the place is secluded enough to still have wine and dinner outside without disturbing the community.
Do note however, that if you are staying with a group of adults, the bedroom with the full size bed is a lofted bed.
We take a trip to Big Bear once a year and will more than likely search this cabin out again.
Guest
Sep 2016

Manager Response: So glad you had a great time! Thank you for your hand written not letting us know what a wonderful time you all had. Welcome back soon!

Big bear vacay bday
The property is situated in a discreet tucked away location which was a small adventure. The house was big and clean, the views were amazing! Wish we stayed longer. The only inconvenience is hauling your own trash to the designated site.
Guest
Aug 2016

Manager Response: So glad that you enjoyed this wonderful spot!

Breathtaking views
Location for us was great it was away from all the other close-by cabins. Its something we were looking into a home with an open land and mountains nearby.The directions to get this destination are very detailed. Please follow. I accidentally typed in the address on Google Maps and followed Google directions. My kids had so much fun they were so excited for the rock climbing room and the older kids enjoyed the pool table activity room and the flat-screen tvs. Having another refrigerator downstairs is a great idea. We kept our cold drinks downstairs while we played pool.
Our meal cooking took place in the kitchen and in the afternoon/evening we barbecued on the grill. Propane grill was little low on the burners but the propane tank was fill. Could be it was too cold around 5pm. The charcoal grill worked out fine. Later that evening we dipped in the jacuzzi. It was relaxing and warm. You can't go wrong with this location especially when you have a Jeep.
Our overall experience was great next year definitely we're coming back!
David O.
Mar 2016

Manager Response: The Wild Burrow is an awesome spot and it sounds like you used most of the amenities that were offered. YES! This one is full of amenities.

WILD BURRO
HI PROPERTY WAS PRETTY CLEAN AND NICE AND BIG, WAS NOT ON LAKE AS ADVERTISED. BUT STILL NICE, I DIDN'T LIKE THE PART WHERE WE HAD TO WASH OUR OWN DISHES AND PUT BACK AND THE COMFORTABLE ARE KINDA OLD AND LOOKED UNWASHED FOR A LONG TIME.
THAO H.
Jan 2016

Manager Response: So glad that you enjoyed the Wild Burro! Yes, this cabin is not on the lake and we advertise this to be in Big Bear City, just 5 miles from the lake and a quick drive to everything. We can assure you that our comforters are clean and washed regularly. We take great pride in implementing great procedures to ensure cleanliness for all of our cabins. Welcome back soon.

Fantastic Stay!
This was our second time here and it was just as nice! Great location, far enough from the downtown area, but also a 15 minute drive if you want to go into town.

The rooms have plenty of space, are well furnished, and the overall look of the cabin makes it a memorable place to be.

Definitely go to this cabin if you are considering a stay in Big Bear.
Ismael G.
Jan 2016
The best spot for our 2 families to enjoy time together!
What a perfect spot for our two families to enjoy! With 2 levels, each with a separate living room and kitchen, this was the best spot to get a lot of time together and apart. Loved the bright, open floor plan, the bedroom with the hot tub in the rocks let us feel like we were soaking in a hot spring. So many beautiful gems in this property and so close to everything. We loved it and will be back soon!
Guest
Jan 2016
Awesome Place to stay and Enjoy the trip
Nice and wonderful vacation house. House was very clean, Enjoyed making grill chicken and hot tub is one of the best. All bath rooms are really nice and clean. Pool table is not good but we did not spend time on pool table. Very big hall and every one can get togeather and spend good time. Overall I will give the 5 out 5 for this vacation house.
Shanmugamani V.
May 2015
one if the best place we stayed in at big bear.
Mary, the property manager is accommodating and pleasant. The location is great but the it is difficult to get into because the main road that leads to to house is close and we have to go around using a dirt road.
Cherry Mae S.
Feb 2015
JAN TRIP
Amazing location if you want peace and privacy.
House is perfect for a big group.
michael k.
Jan 2015
Wild Burro
Nice cabin with excellent views. A little tricky to get there as you have to drive on dirt roads. Barbeque needs a new burner. Besides that very nice and quiet cabin if you like privacy.
Guest
Jan 2015


Click to View Map